Sunday, November 25, 2012

The Seven Sages of Judaism

The Seven Greatest Rabbis of Judaism who Ever Lived (100 BC - 1760 AD)
Rabbi Hillel, Rabbi Shammai, Rabbi Judah Ha-Nasi, Rabbi Shlomo Yitzchaki, Rabbi Moses ben Nachman, Rabbi Moses ben Maimon, and Rabbi Israel ben Eliezer

Both the Babylonian and the Jerusalem Talmud repeatedly mention what they call the 'Sages and Prophets'. Well, the Prophets all have separate Books in the Tanakh named after them so their list of names can be found by simply looking up the Books of the Old Testament in any Bible's Table of Contents. However, the question remains as to who exactly were the 'Sages' of the Talmud's duo of 'Sages and Prophets'? Here is the answer which most readers would probably agree with, give or take a 'Sage' or two. The Seven Sages of Judaism are listed in chronological order:

The Seven Sages of Judaism
1) Hillel (100 BC - 10 AD)
2) Shammai (50 BC - 30 AD)
3) Rab Judah (135-219 AD)
4) Rashi (1040-1105)
5) Ramban (1194-1270)
6) Rambam (1135-1204 AD)
7) Baal Shem Tov (1700 - 1760 AD)

Seven Important Facts about the Seven Sages
Hillel (Rabbi Hillel) had followers called Hillelites of the School of Hillel.
Shammai (Rabbi Shammai) had followers called Shammaites of the School of Shammai.
Rab Judah (Rabbi Judah Ha-Nasi) is often known as the Prince, or Judah the Prince.
Rashi (Rabbi Shlomo Yitzchaki) wrote an entire verse by verse analysis of the Tanakh.
Ramban (Rabbi Moshe ben Nachman) is also known as Nachmanides.
Rambam (Rabbi Moshe ben Maimon) is also known as Maimonides.
Baal Shem Tov (Rabbi Israel ben Eliezer) is also known as the Bescht.

No comments: